Connect with us

SPORT

Here Is Why Emi Martinez was not punished for ‘handling ball outside penalty area’

Published

on

Advertisement
Advertisement

The Video Assistant Referee (VAR) checked to confirm if Arsenal goalkeeper, Emi Martinez, handled the ball outside the penalty box, the UK Mirror reports.

Replay on TV did not show conclusively if Martinez’s hands followed his feet outside the area.

Advertisement
Advertisement

It led to a backlash from Chelsea fans on social, who were angry over an apparent VAR check.

Advertisement

However, VAR looked at the controversial incident and frozen images showed Martinez did not commit any offence.

Advertisement
Advertisement

It was deemed the ball was on the line, even though Martinez’s feet were outside of the box.

Advertisement

At that stage of the game, Arsenal were 2-1 in front and the Blues had Mateo Kovacic sent off by referee Anthony Taylor for two bookable offences.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement

Advertisement
Advertisement

Advertisement


Share your thoughts on this article and join the conversation on Twitter or Facebook.


Source: www.micnaij.com

READ ALSO:  Footballer, Farid El Melali 'arrested for masturbating in Public
Advertisement
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Micnaij is a Premier Entertainment Served Always In Nigeria covering Latest news, Breaking News, Politics, Sports, Lifestyle, Entertainment and Gossip.
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); If you believe any materials accessible on or from this platform infringe your copyright, you may request removal of those materials (or access to them) from the Website by submitting written notification to complain@micnaij.com. We do not claim ownership of some of the images used on this website and all attempts will be made to list the sources.