Buhari Assents Police Trust Fund Bill, Rejects 17 Others

Written by Our Correspondent

President Muhammadu Buhari has rejected 17 bills passed by the 8th National Assembly.

Buhari, however, gave accent to nine other bills passed by the last Senate.

The Senior Special Assistant to President (Senate), Sen. Ita Enag disclosed this to journalists at a news conference on Wednesday in Abuja.

- Advertisement -

He explained that the President decided not to communicate to the 9th Assembly on the rejection of the bills because it could not take any decision on the rejected bills, NAN reports

READ ALSO:  BREAKING: Nigeria confirms two new cases of Coronavirus

Enag, however, promised to engage the leadership of both chambers on the rationale behind the rejections of those bills.

He said the current National Assembly could not take action to override them because the law forbade the lawmakers to do so.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the nine bills assented to by president are: Police Trust Fund Act, Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act, FCT Management Board and Health Insurance, Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defence Bill, Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill, National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) bill.

- Advertisement -
READ ALSO:  Coronavirus: Gov. Abdullahi Sule not on self-isolation - Aide

Others are National Agricultural Seed Council bill, Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment), and FCT Primary Healthcare Board.

About the author

Our Correspondent

Leave a Reply